

Distr. GENERAL

GC.8/11 1 September 1999

United Nations Industrial Development Organization

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

# **GENERAL CONFERENCE**

Eighth session Vienna, 29 November - 3 December 1999

## LISTS OF STATES INCLUDED IN ANNEX I TO THE CONSTITUTION OF UNIDO

Note by the Secretariat

1. Reference is made to the Lists of States included by the Depositary in Annex I to the Constitution of UNIDO, contained in document UNIDO/GC.1/3. According to Annex I to the Constitution, the Lists of States to be included by the Depositary (Secretary-General of the United Nations) in that Annex are the lists determined by the General Assembly of the United Nations for the purpose of section II, paragraph 4, of General Assembly resolution 2152 (XXI), as in effect on the date the Constitution entered into force, namely on 21 June 1985.

2. As of 1 September 1999, 168 States were Members of UNIDO. Of these, 164 are shown in the Lists of States to be included by the Depositary in Annex I to the Constitution (see overleaf). The following 4 States have become Members of UNIDO but are not yet included in any of those lists:

State	Date of accession
Tajikistan	9 June 1993
Uzbekistan	26 April 1994
Turkmenistan	16 February 1995
Kazakhstan	3 June 1997

Pursuant to paragraph 1 of Annex I to the Constitution, if a State not listed in any of those lists becomes a Member of UNIDO, the General Conference shall decide, after appropriate consultations, in which of those lists it is to be included. The matter will be brought to the attention of the Conference at its eighth session for consideration.

3. The present note supersedes document IDB.19/2.

For reasons of economy, this document has been printed in a limited number. Delegates are kindly requested to bring their copies of documents to meetings.

GC.8/11 Page 2

Afghanistan

Algeria	
Angola	
Bahrain	
Bangladesh	
Benin	
Bhutan	
Botswana	
Burkina Faso	
Burundi	
Cambodia	
Cameroon	
Cape Verde	
Central African Republic	
Chad	
China	
Comoros	
Congo	
Côte d'Ivoire	
Democratic People's	
Republic of Korea	
Democratic Republic of	
the Congo	
Djibouti	
5	

#### A. States from List A of document UNIDO/GC.1/3

Egypt Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Ethiopia Fiji Gabon Gambia Ghana Guinea Guinea-Bissau India Indonesia Iran (Islamic Republic of) Iraq Israel Jordan Kenya Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Lao People's Democratic Republic Lebanon Lesotho Liberia

Libyan Arab Jamahiriya Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Mauritania Mauritius Mongolia Morocco Mozambique Myanmar Namibia Nepal Niger Nigeria Oman Pakistan Papua New Guinea Philippines Oatar Republic of Korea Rwanda Sao Tome and Principe

Saudi Arabia Senegal Seychelles Sierra Leone Somalia Sri Lanka Sudan Swaziland Syrian Arab Republic Thailand Togo Tonga Tunisia Uganda United Arab Emirates United Republic of Tanzania Vanuatu Viet Nam Yemen Yugoslavia<sup>a</sup> Zambia Zimbabwe

Sweden

Turkey

Switzerland

United Kingdom of

Great Britain and

Northern Ireland

Saint Vincent and

the Grenadines

Trinidad and Tobago

Suriname

Uruguay

Venezuela

### B. States from List B of document UNIDO/GC.1/3

Austria

Belgium Cyprus Denmark Finland France

Argentina

Bahamas

Barbados

Belize

Bolivia

Brazil

Chile

Colombia

Costa Rica

Ireland Italy Japan Luxembourg

Germany

Greece

Malta Netherlands New Zealand Norway Portugal Spain

### C. States from List C of document UNIDO/GC.1/3

Cuba Honduras Dominica Jamaica Dominican Republic Mexico Nicaragua Ecuador El Salvador Panama Grenada Paraguay Guatemala Peru Guyana Saint Kitts and Nevis Haiti Saint Lucia

### D. States from List D of document UNIDO/GC.1/3

Albania Armenia Azerbaijan Belarus Bosnia and Herzegovina Bulgaria Croatia Czech Republic Georgia Hungary

Lithuania Poland Republic of Moldova Romania **Russian Federation** 

Slovakia Slovenia The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia Ukraine