

Distr. GENERAL IDB.27/11

4 April 2003

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

United Nations Industrial Development Organization

# **Industrial Development Board**

Twenty-seventh session Vienna, 26-28 August 2003

# LISTS OF STATES INCLUDED IN ANNEX I TO THE CONSTITUTION OF UNIDO

Note by the Secretariat

- 1. Reference is made to the Lists of States included by the Depositary in Annex I to the Constitution of UNIDO, contained in document UNIDO/GC.1/3. According to Annex I to the Constitution, the Lists of States to be included by the Depositary (Secretary-General of the United Nations) in that Annex are the lists determined by the General Assembly of the United Nations for the purpose of section II, paragraph 4, of General Assembly resolution 2152 (XXI), as in effect on the date the Constitution entered into force, namely on 21 June 1985.
- 2. As of 4 April 2003, 170 States were Members of UNIDO. Of these, 168 are shown in the Lists of States to be included by the Depositary in Annex I to the Constitution (see overleaf). The following 2 States have become Members of UNIDO but are not yet included in any of those lists:

State	Date of accession
Tajikistan	9 June 1993
Turkmenistan	16 February 1995

Pursuant to paragraph 1 of Annex I to the Constitution, if a State not listed in any of those lists becomes a Member of UNIDO, the General Conference shall decide, after appropriate consultations, in which of those lists it is to be included. The matter was brought to the attention of the Conference at its ninth session for consideration.

3. The present note supersedes document GC.9/16.

For reasons of economy, this document has been printed in a limited number. Delegates are kindly requested to bring their copies of documents to meetings.

#### A. States from List A of document UNIDO/GC.1/3

Afghanistan **Equatorial Guinea** Madagascar Senegal Algeria Eritrea Malawi Seychelles Sierra Leone Angola Ethiopia Malaysia Bahrain Maldives Fiji Somalia Gabon Bangladesh South Africa Mali Gambia Benin Mauritania Sri Lanka Bhutan Ghana Mauritius Sudan Botswana Guinea Mongolia Swaziland

Burkina Faso Guinea-Bissau Morocco Syrian Arab Republic

Mozambique Thailand Burundi India Myanmar Cambodia Indonesia Togo Cameroon Iran (Islamic Republic of) Namibia Tonga Cape Verde Iraq Nepal Tunisia Central African Republic Israel Niger Uganda

Nigeria United Arab Emirates Jordan Chad Kazakhstan United Republic China Oman Comoros Kenya Pakistan of Tanzania Papua New Guinea Congo Kuwait Uzbekistan Côte d'Ivoire Kyrgyzstan **Philippines** Vanuatu Democratic People's Lao People's Democratic Qatar Viet Nam Republic of Korea Republic Republic of Korea Yemen Democratic Republic of Lebanon Rwanda Zambia Lesotho Sao Tome Zimbabwe the Congo

Djibouti Liberia and Principe Egypt Libyan Arab Jamahiriya Saudi Arabia

# B. States from List B of document UNIDO/GC.1/3

Austria Greece Netherlands Turkev New Zealand United Kingdom of Belgium Ireland Great Britain and Cyprus Italy Norway Denmark Japan Portugal Northern Ireland Luxembourg Spain Finland

France Malta Sweden
Germany Monaco Switzerland

### C. States from List C of document UNIDO/GC.1/3

Argentina Cuba Honduras Saint Vincent and Bahamas Dominica Jamaica the Grenadines Barbados Dominican Republic Mexico Suriname Nicaragua Belize Ecuador Trinidad and Tobago

Bolivia El Salvador Panama Uruguay
Brazil Grenada Paraguay Venezuela

Brazil Grenada Paraguay Chile Guatemala Peru

Colombia Guyana Saint Kitts and Nevis

Costa Rica Haiti Saint Lucia

## D. States from List D of document UNIDO/GC.1/3

Albania Croatia Poland Slovakia
Armenia Czech Republic Republic of Moldova Slovenia

Azerbaijan Georgia Romania The former Yugoslav Belarus Hungary Russian Federation Republic of Macedonia

Bosnia and Herzegovina Lithuania Serbia and Montenegro Ukraine

Bulgaria