

United Nations Industrial Development Organization

Distr. GENERAL IDB.27/11/Rev.1 21 August 2003 ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Industrial Development Board

Twenty-seventh session Vienna, 26-28 August 2003

LISTS OF STATES INCLUDED IN ANNEX I TO THE CONSTITUTION OF UNIDO

Note by the Secretariat

1. Reference is made to the Lists of States included by the Depositary in Annex I to the Constitution of UNIDO, contained in document UNIDO/GC.1/3. According to Annex I to the Constitution, the Lists of States to be included by the Depositary (Secretary-General of the United Nations) in that Annex are the lists determined by the General Assembly of the United Nations for the purpose of section II, paragraph 4, of General Assembly resolution 2152 (XXI), as in effect on the date the Constitution entered into force, namely on 21 June 1985.

2. As of 21 August 2003, 171 States were Members of UNIDO. Of these, 168 are shown in the Lists of States to be included by the Depositary in Annex I to the Constitution (see overleaf). The following 3 States have become Members of UNIDO but are not yet included in any of those lists:

State	Date of accession
Tajikistan	9 June 1993
Timor-Leste	31 July 2003
Turkmenistan	16 February 1995

Pursuant to paragraph 1 of Annex I to the Constitution, if a State not listed in any of those lists becomes a Member of UNIDO, the General Conference shall decide, after appropriate consultations, in which of those lists it is to be included. The matter was brought to the attention of the Conference at its ninth session for consideration.

3. The present note supersedes document IDB.27/11.

For reasons of economy, this document has been printed in a limited number. Delegates are kindly requested to bring their copies of documents to meetings.

A. States from List A of document UNIDO/GC.1/3

Afghanistan Algeria Angola Bahrain Bangladesh Benin Bhutan Botswana Burkina Faso Burundi Cambodia Cameroon Cape Verde Central African Republic Chad China Comoros Congo Côte d'Ivoire Democratic People's Republic of Korea Democratic Republic of the Congo Djibouti Egypt

Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Ethiopia Fiji Gabon Gambia Ghana Guinea Guinea-Bissau India Indonesia Iran (Islamic Republic of) Iraq Israel Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Lao People's Democratic Republic Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libyan Arab Jamahiriya

Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Mauritania Mauritius Mongolia Morocco Mozambique Myanmar Namibia Nepal Niger Nigeria Oman Pakistan Papua New Guinea Philippines Qatar Republic of Korea Rwanda Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia

Senegal Seychelles Sierra Leone Somalia South Africa Sri Lanka Sudan Swaziland Syrian Arab Republic Thailand Togo Tonga Tunisia Uganda United Arab Emirates United Republic of Tanzania Uzbekistan Vanuatu Viet Nam Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe

B. States from List B of document UNIDO/GC.1/3

- Austria Belgium Cyprus Denmark Finland France Germany

Greece Ireland Italy Japan Luxembourg Malta Monaco

Netherlands New Zealand Norway Portugal Spain Sweden Switzerland

Turkev United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

C. States from List C of document UNIDO/GC.1/3

Argentina Cuba Honduras Saint Vincent and Bahamas Dominica Jamaica the Grenadines Barbados Dominican Republic Mexico Suriname Nicaragua Belize Ecuador Trinidad and Tobago Bolivia El Salvador Panama Uruguay Brazil Grenada Paraguay Venezuela Guatemala Chile Peru Colombia Guyana Saint Kitts and Nevis Haiti Saint Lucia Costa Rica

D. States from List D of document UNIDO/GC.1/3

Albania Slovakia Croatia Poland Republic of Moldova Armenia **Czech Republic** Slovenia Azerbaijan Georgia Romania The former Yugoslav Hungary Republic of Macedonia Belarus **Russian Federation** Bosnia and Herzegovina Lithuania Serbia and Montenegro Ukraine Bulgaria